Accessibility & WCAG 2.x Worldwide

We've carried out a global review of Accessibility Regulations (shown below), and you can see that, with few exceptions, WCAG 2.x forms the basis of legal requirements, globally. Using automation effectively will help you move towards compliance, show progression and reduce your risk. Carry out a free test now or contact us for more info.


  • Results in minutes
  • Unlimited access
  • Contract free
Download the detail
world map of accessibility

Accessibility by Country

Country Standard "Locally" Legislation Document / references


WCAG2.0 A / AA

Disability Discrimination Act 1992

All government and non-government websites to comply with WCAG 2 A / AA by end of 2013


WCAG2.0 A / AA

Human Rights Act 1977

Standard on Web Accessibility
Apr 2015 - Lessons from Canada's government-wide web accessibility push


WCAG2.0 A / AA

European Parliament Resolution (2002) 0325

Required for all EU commission websites - see EUROPA - Web accessibility policy.
Accessibility requirements suitable for public procurement of ICT products and services in Europe (9.3, page 44) ISO/IEC 40500_2012 ISO/IEC 40500_2012


RGAA 3 (Basis WCAG 2.0)

Law No 2005-102, Article 47

Updated from RGAA 2.2 in April 2015, to take account of new technologies like HTML5 and ARIA. RGAA 2.2 required for all French central government websites May 2011. French "all" public sector, type / funded sites are required to comply by May 2012. Loi n° 2005-102 du 11 février 2005 pour l'égalité des droits et des chances, la participation et la citoyenneté des personnes handicapées (1) Code de l'action sociale et des familles - Article L312-1


BITV 2 (Basis of WCAG 2.0)

Federal Disabled Equalization Law (BGG)

BITV 2 came into force on Sept 22, 2011 covering all government websites. It is based on WCAG 2, not exactly but very close.

Hong Kong



WCAG 2 AA became the standard for GovHK websites in March 2012. Detail of requirements at page 14, (A) section 32 of Guidelines on Dissemination of Information through Government Websites


Guidelines for Indian Government Websites (based on WCAG 2.0 A)


WCAG 2 Level A became the standard for government websites early 2009 by Central Secretariat Manual of Office Procedures (CSMOP). Now part of the Government of India through its National e-Governance Plan (NeGP). Required and tested by STQC.
STQC Accessibility Statement
Guidelines for Indian Government Websites Pages 74



The Disability Act 2005

All government websites - Revised, Aug 2016. Universal Design Guidance for Online Public Services 2.8: Documents, page 24 / 2.10: Accessibility - WCAG is fundamental, page 28



Equal Rights of Persons with Disabilities Law, 5758-1998

All government websites, and websites of businesses with annual turnover of 500,000 ILS (approx USD $14,0000 - Sep 17)
Web Content Accessibility Guidelines


Technical Rules of Law 4/2004 (updated to WCAG 2.0 in September 2013)

Law No. 4/2004 (Stanca Law)

Required for all government websites
Practical Guide to Creating an Accessible Document
Strategy for Digital Growth


WCAG2.0 A / AA

Act on Welfare of Persons with Disabilities

Korean Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1


X 8341-3:2016 (identical to WCAG 2.0)


Identical to ISO/IEC 40500:2012, which is itself identical to WCAG 2. Required for all local and central government websites.
Web Accessibly Infrastructure Committee


WCAG2.0 A / AA


Government websites must comply with the government web guidelines, which include WCAG 2 AA. Current policy: Comply or explain

New Zealand

EN 301 549 version 1.1.2 WCAG2.0 A / AA

Human Rights Amendment Act 2001

Web Accessibility Standard 1.0 (WCAG 2 AA with some exceptions) required for all government web sites.


WCAG2.0 A / AA (with exceptions)

LOV 2008-06-20 nr 42 Lov om forbud mot diskriminering på grunn av nedsatt funksjonsevne

By law, websites to be universally designed. From July 2013, new websites should follow WCAG 2 AA with some exceptions regarding time-based media and social media.




14(1) The Government of Ontario and the Legislative Assembly shall make their internet and intranet websites and web content conform with the World Wide Web Consortium Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, at Level AA, and shall do so in accordance with the schedule set out in this section and Accessibility rules for businesses and non-profits


SGQRI 008 (based on WCAG 2.0)

Standards sur l'accessibilité du Web

Adaptation of the WCAG2.0 standard, also covers media, documents, etc. The main detail of the requirement can be found at Version Commentée du standard sur l'accessibilité d'un site web pages 86 onwards


UNE 139803:2012 (updated in 2012 to WCAG 2.0 AA)

Law 34/2002, Law 51/2003

All government websites need to meet the standard Nueva Guía de accesibilidad en documentos PDF and the European reference . All of the AA level compliance criteria for WCAG 2.0 must be met.

Switzerland (Suisse, Schweiz, Svizzera)

WCAG2.0 A / AA

Federal Law on the Elimination of Inequalities for Persons with Disabilities, as amended

Web Content Accessibility of the Government Websites in Switzerland

United Kingdom


Equality Act 2010

The GDS Service Manual states the requirement for WCAG 2 AA for UK government web sites. Specifics of accessibility can be found here. As a minimum, your service must meet Level AA of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0.
2017 Q3/UK Central Government benchmark, compliance with WCAG 2.0
2017 Q3/UK Local Government benchmark, compliance with WCAG 2.0


Section 508 (WCAG2.0 AA)

Section 508 of Rehabilitation Act
Workforce Investment Act of 1998
Section 255 of the Comms. Act

On January 18, 2017, the Board published a the Board published a final rule that updates the Section 508 Standards along with accessibility guidelines for telecommunication products and equipment covered by section 255 of the Communications Act. The Section 508 Standards apply to electronic and information technology procured by the federal government, including computer hardware and software, websites, multimedia such as video, phone systems, and copiers. The Section 255 Guidelines address access to telecommunications products and services, and apply to manufacturers of telecommunication equipment. (Also considered as § 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, as amended by Title IV of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998.)
Incorporation of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)
About the Update of the Section 508 Standards and Section 255 Guidelines
Comparison Table of WCAG 2.0 to Existing 508 Standards

Globally: Airlines


14 CFR Parts 382 and 399
49 CFR Part 27

12th December 2016 marked the final deadline for airlines to comply with the US DOT / Air Carrier Access Act (ACAA). Web sites must conform to the standard for accessibility contained in the widely accepted Web site Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 and meet the Level AA Success Criteria
Accessibility within Airlines - Market Report
2017 Q3/Global Airlines benchmark